OCEANS'07 Aberdeen

 OCEANS '07 IEEE Aberdeen Student Poster Competition

 Student Poster Participants

OCEANS '07 IEEE Aberdeen Student Poster Competition Participants

Student Poster Winners

OCEANS '07 IEEE Aberdeen Student Poster Competition Winners

Third Place:

Sergi Pons, CMIMA-CSIC, Spain
Edward Pilbrow, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Lee Pius, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Second Place:

Ejria Sibadogil, Borneo Marine Research Institute, Malaysia
Morgan Adams, The Robert Gordon University, Scotland

First Place:

Angela Piehl Harms, University of Bergen, Norway


A very fine Student Poster Program was presented at OCEANS 07 Aberdeen.  Forty two poster abstracts were received and twenty two students were invited.  One student had to cancel, but twenty one posters were displayed on poster boards in the Exhibition Center. Financial support for the program was provided by the Research-Directorate General of the European Commission.  Prizes were awarded by funds from the College of Physical Sciences of the University of Aberdeen. The poster program was organized by a committee lead by Dr. Martin Solan, The University of Aberdeen.  He was assisted by Aland Edwards and Miguel Nuevo-Alarcon of RDG European Commission. Judging of the posters was led by Colonel Norman D. Miller, IEEE/OES who was assisted by Miguel Nuevo-Alarcon and Mr. John Dunn of the FRS Marine Lab Aberdeen.  The posters were on display Tuesday through Thursday for the Conference attendees to view.  The judges worked Tuesday and Wednesday and were able to select the winners in time for the awards presentation at Fyvie Castle on Wednesday evening.  The awards were presented by Dr. Alan Edwards, RDG European Commission and Prof. William Deans, Head of the School of Engineering, University of Edinburgh. The roster of students, their respective university, and poster subject are:

Morgan Adams, The Robert Gordon University, Scotland
“Novel Tracers for Environmental Applications”

Nicholas Burns, The University of Aberdeen, Scotland
“Extraction from Underwater Holograms of Marine Organisms”

Tomasz Gorski, Instytut Radioelecktroniki Wojskowa Akademis Techniczna, Poland
“Target Detection using HF Radar Data”

Yan Hou, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
:Behavior-based Rules with Fuzzy Logic Controlled Priority Weights in Multi-UUVs Team Cooperation”

Mathew Johnson-Robertson, Australian Centre for Field Robotics, Australia
“Three Dimensional Heterogenous Imaging Sensor Correspondence and Registration Visualization”

Inigo Martinez, FRS Marine Laboratory, Scotland
“What Impact do North Sea Oil and Gas Platforms have on Demeral Fish Population Ecology”

Derrick Mirikitani, Goldsmith College, England
“Day Ahead Ocean Swell Forecasting with Recursively Regularized Recurrant Neural Networks”

Piehl Harms Angela, University of Bergen, Norway
“Physical Qualification  and Quantification of the Water Masses in the Kongsfjorden System Cross Section”

Edward Pilbrow, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
“An Active Beacon for Measuring theTow-Path of a Synthetic Aperature Sonar: Purau Bay Sea Trail Results”

Lee Pius, University of Singapore, Singapore
“Comparison of data delivery schemes for Underwater Sensor Networks”

Sergi Pons, Marine Technology Unit (CMIMA-CSIC), Spain
“Monolithic Spectrometer for Environmental Monitoring Applications”

Ruben Quesada, EPSC-UPC, Spain
“Wavelet Denoising Technique to Minimize the Noise Effects on Oceanic Microstructure Data”

Jeffery Rogers, Duke University, USA
“A Study of Active Sonar Reverberation using Ultrasonic Experiments in a Shallow-water Tank”

Ejria Sibadogil, Borneo Marine Research Institute, Malaysia
“Water Circulation in Darvel Bay, Sabah, Malaysia”

Manuel Toscano-Jiminez, University of Seville, Spain
“Using Oceanography to Control and Forecast Nuclear Accidents and Other Passive Particles Problems”

Naomi Turner, The Robert Gordon University, Scotland
“Development of a Tidal Turbine for Deployment in Areas of Slow Moving Tidal Flows”

Richard Veitch, University of Aberdeen, United Kingdom
“Reconfigurable Hardware Applied to Holographic Reconstruction”

Zhenhai Wang, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth, USA
“Time Frequency Domain Blind Source Separation in Underwater Wireless Speech Communication”

Fang Xu, Xiamen University, Fujian , China
“Space-time Signal Processing of ofdm Signals in Fast Varying Underwater Acoustic Channel”

Tomoko Yoshiki, Soka University, Japan
“The Pressurizing System for Observation of Marine Zooplankton”

 Following a very fine banquet at Fyvie Castle the Poster Program was concluded with the award of prizes to the award winning posters:

First Place - Angela Piehl Harms – 300 Pounds

Second Place – Morgan Adams – 200 Pounds
 - Ejria Sibadogil – 200 Pounds

Third Place – Edward Pilbrow  - 100 Pounds
Third Place – Lee Pius – 100 Pounds
                   -  Sergi Pons – 100 Pounds

All students were asked to stand and received a warm round of applause for their participation in the program.  Appropriate photos were taken to commemorate the occasion.

Norman D. Miller , P.E.
Student Activities Coordinator