Past Technical Achievement Award Recipients

The Distinguished Technical Achievement Award is given to honor an outstanding technical contribution to oceanic engineering in either the fundamental or applied areas. The recipient need not be a member of the Oceanic Engineering Society or the IEEE. The award recognizes either a single major invention or scientific  contribution or a distinguished series of contributions over a long period of time.

 Recipients of the

Distinguished Technical Achievement Award

of the

IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society


2017 Peter N. Mikhalevsky
2016 John E. Ehrenberg
2015 Milica Stojanovic
2014 Christian de Moustier
2013 Gwyn Griffiths
2012 Joseph Vadus
2011 Christopher von Alt 
2010 Tamaki Ura
2009 Robert T. Bannon
2008 Thomas B. Sanford
2007 Donald E. Barrick
2006 Fred Noel Spiess
2005 Douglas C. Webb
2004 John P. Craven
2003 Georges Bienvenu
2002 James Candy
2001 Werner R. Alpers
2000 Albert J. Williams 3rd
1999 William M. Carey
1998 Burton G. Hurdle
1997 Newell Booth
1996 Frederick H. Fisher
1995 Mack O'Brien
1994 Edmund J. Sullivan
1993 William J. Plant
1992 Arthur B. Baggeroer
1991 Henry Cox
1990 Robert C. Spindel
1989 Victor C. Anderson
1988 Chester M. McKinney
1987 James R. McFarlane
1986 Robert J. Urick
1985 William N. Nierenberg
1984 John B. Hersey
1983 Alan Berman
1982 Ira Dyer
1981 No Award
1980 Neil Brown
1979 David W. Hyde
1978 Richard K. Moore
1977 Howard A. Wilcox
1976 Werner Kroebel
1975 Robert A. Frosh